Three diagnostic imaging leaders elected to National Academy of Medicine


Three diagnostic imaging researchers have been elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM), one of the highest honors in health and medicine. One hundred distinguished researchers in the “Class of 2019” joined the 2,200-member organization.

New members are elected based on their contributions to advancement of medical science, health care, and public health. Established in 1970, NAM works with the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering to provide independent, objective analysis and advice, and to inform public policy decisions.

The researchers are:

  • Denise R. Aberle, M.D., professor of radiology and bioengineering and vice chair for research/radiological sciences, David Geffen School of Medicine, University of California, Los Angeles. Dr. Aberle was elected for leading the National Cancer Institute-sponsored National Lung Screening Trial, in which low-dose CT screening was proven to reduce lung cancer mortality by 20 percent over chest radiographic screening.
  • Dorin Comaniciu, PhD, senior vice president, Artificial Intelligence and Digital Innovation, Siemens Healthineers, Princeton, NJ.  Dr. Comaniciu was elected for contributions to diagnostic imaging and image-guided therapy that have resulted in better and faster diagnosis and treatment.
  • Joseph C. Wu, MD, the Simon H. Stertzer Professor of Medicine and Radiology, and Director of the Stanford Cardiovascular Institute, Stanford, Calif.  Dr. Wu was elected for seminal contributions and pioneer breakthroughs in cardiovascular medicine and imaging.
Back To Top

Three diagnostic imaging leaders elected to National Academy of Medicine.  Appl Radiol. 

October 31, 2019
Categories:  Section

Copyright © Anderson Publishing 2021